Is chester race course the only one that runs anti clockwise

No. Apart from Chester, left handed (anti-clockwise) racecourses include: Ayr, Bath, Brighton, Catterick, Chepstow, Doncaster, Epsom, Ffos Las, Yarmouth, Haydock, Lingfield, Newbury, Nottingham, Pontefract, Redcar, Southwell, Thirsk, Wolverhampton, Warwick, York.

England is distinguished by having both left and right-handed courses, the reason being the particular topography of each location.

There are currently 59 racecourses operating in Great Britain (excluding Point-to-Point courses).

Horse Racing Ireland (HRI) is the governing body for horse racing in Ireland. Like most other sports, horse racing is run on an All Ireland basis, so Horse Racing Ireland is responsible for racing in both the Republic of Ireland, which has 24 racecourses, and in Northern Ireland, which has 2 racecourses.

For more info, see's A Brief Guide To UK & Irish Racecourses.

To view an interactive map of UK race courses, go to

Tuesday, August 29 2017

Related questions